Hurt By a Drunk Driver in Texas? Rest Easy Knowing That They Will Face Justice

They say that everything is bigger in Texas, and when it comes to DWI penalties, the saying still applies. Texas is incredibly strict when it comes to punishing drunk drivers, and rivaled only by our neighbor to the west Arizona, our state takes one of the toughest stances in the nation against drivers who get behind the wheel intoxicated.

If you, or someone that you love has been injured at the hands of a drunk driver, it can be easy to feel overcome by feelings of anger, betrayal, and helplessness. Not only were your injuries senseless, but the other driver was selfish enough to put you and your family at risk willingly.

While there is no silver lining when it comes to your injuries, you may rest easier knowing that the driver who harmed you is likely in for a world of legal hurt. While many people manage to get out of DWI charges based on ridiculous technicalities, when someone has been hurt as a result of their actions, they will be held accountable.

What Makes Texas DWI Standards So Tough?

DWIs are one of those offenses that the punishments get worse the more often you are convicted. For instance, first offenders may face a few days in jail and maybe $2,000 in fines. While not a light sentence, it is nothing compared to what a third time offender would face—a felony charge, years in prison, and up to $10,000 in fines.

For many states, there is what is called a “lookback” period for multiple offenses, which means that the convictions must have happened within a set timeframe—say, 10 years—to be counted as a prior offense. This means that in other states, people who have two or three previous convictions may only be charged as a first or second-time offender because their convictions are outside the lookback period.

In Texas, there is no lookback period—this means that if the person who hit you had two prior DWI convictions from 20 or 30 years ago, this current offense would be tried as a third offense. There is also no option to plea down to lower level offenses in Texas, which means that if someone was caught driving drunk, it will go on their record as such.

If a Drunk Driver Has Hurt You and Your Family, You Deserve Justice

If you have been injured by a drunk driver, you deserve both compensation and justice. Attorney Steve Lee has represented Texans who have been hurt by negligent and drunk drivers for decades, and will fight aggressively to ensure that you receive compensation for your pain and suffering. To schedule a free consultation, contact him today by clicking on the live chat feature or filling out the simple online contact form.

Free Case Review

Fill Out The Form, It’s quick, easy and FREE. Simply tell us how to get in touch with you.

    Initial consultation is always FREE Call Us 713-CALL-LEE or CONTACT US HERE